Hello from Maritime Seeds!

Hello folks, I am new to overgrow and would like to introduce myself and my small breeding co based out of New Brunswick, Canada. I started growing in 2014 and started maritime seeds in 2018 with a fairly large phenohunt of KC Brains ‘Sweet Dreams’ and ‘Afghani Special’. When starting out I was really trying to take a scientific approach to the breeding, looking at allele dominance and trying to build a new unique cultivar with stability among seeds. My plan was to do some test crosses in order to determine allele dominance. In that phenohunt run I F2’d the Sweet Dreams and Afghani Special and also hybridized both with a few different select mothers, mostly just for shits and giggles.

I quickly realized that more funding would be needed to achieve the breeding goals that I had set out. And unfortunately, I was likely not going to make a whole lot of money with a F2 of these old genetics that people don’t really know about. I mostly advertise/sell on IG and a lot of the growers there just want tight frosty buds and don’t care about the more unique, oldschool and landrace genetics.

So, with this in mind I set out to create a modern hybrid that looks and smells amazing, for the IG growers. At that time I was testing for Oni seeds and had just finished up a run with their Tropicanna Punch bx1. A beautiful specimen was found that I knew would work well in the project. Next thing was finding a male. It just so happened that Seed junky was releasing their Wedding Cake F4 so I scooped some up and hit an exemplary male into the select Trop Punch Bx1 Cut. That’s when my ‘Purple Candy Cake’ was born. Growers in Canada were all over it and the F1’s sold out quickly. I then F2’d in two versions, they sold well but I am still sitting on a ton of seeds (possibly made too many).