LED question for a guy that has not grown in 17 years

Okay guys. As I am about to medically retire and move home to Oklahoma it is time to get back to growing. I used to grow HPS in the old Home Depot C31 cabinets and used DWC. Now with all of this crazy technology and so much legalization, I want to switch to LEDs but use organics. I am NOT going to DIY my lights. I shake quite a bit (TBI) and want the ease of just buying a light hang ready. My tent is going to be a 4x4x7 enclosure. The problem is that as soon as I see a light with great reviews and I want to try it, I see more and different lights with crazy results. Budget will not be an issue and I really like the KIND LED K5 series then I see threads on COB lights and I am a newb all over again. Any and all advice is highly appreciated. :v:

9 Likes

Sol strips is what I am saving for and a lot of these guys here use them @Baudelaire can answer all of your questions. Plus they are a OG sponsor

8 Likes

While not the most inexpensive option, Fluence Bioengineering has a good reputation along with several ready-to-go footprint options that allows you to plan for future expansion.

edit: we have measured the spectra for at least a couple of their offerings (what I had available). The offered specs do appear to match up well with what they are claiming in regards to PAR output. Vyprx Plus Greenhouse Spectrum and a couple of the Ray series were evaluated. Some additional info is in this thread:

And, this thread on some of the Fluence offerings:

6 Likes

Has anyone tried Electric sky 300’s? It seems 2 of those in a 4x4 tent growing 4 autos would be very efficient.

3 Likes

So, when looking at LED fixtures, find the ones that have (at minimum) verifiable PAR efficiency ratings. For instance,

Photon Efficiency [300nm-780nm] 2.0 Umol/J**

The higher the number, generally the better / more modern discrete diodes are being used. Try to go 2.0 or greater with the most efficient fixtures 2.5 or better.