Looking for some water only soil advice and recipesšŸ˜Š

I am new to growing.
I think I found a soil recipe that I want to use.

I was wanting to know your thoughts on it and/or what are some of your recipes?

I plan on adding red wigglers to each of my pots when growing

5 Likes

This might help you out there are many recipes within

3 Likes

Welcome to growing and overgrow! This is a very rewarding path. Use the site to learn, and you will do well.

1 Like

Thank you :blush:

1 Like

Iā€™m in the same boat, someone just asked this recently too and I think the response seems promising

4 Likes

To understand better how a potting soil is made i always measure the ingredients in volumeā€¦or percentageā€¦
Also i divide the recipe in
Texture (For exempleā€¦30%peat 30%coco 30%perlite 10%ewc) to achieve a good balance between water and oxigen retention
Then the lime pack to buffer the peat that has a very low ph and provide few elemnts like Ca mg etcā€¦for example i always use 1 cup x cubic foot of straight peat , (That cup is made with 2part dolo 1 part gypsum and 1part calcium carbonate)
Then the nutrient pack (all your choice meals)ā€¦foodā€¦payn attention to balance the fast release one with the slow onesā€¦iprefere The slow and steady onesā€¦like feather meal for Nā€¦most guanos are pretty fastā€¦
I think in this way it helps to understand the role that each elemnt plays in the mix and measuring by the volume is much easy.
As far as your mix, check (what the label says) and be careful with the high P guano, it could release a lot of P and bother the develop of good fungi like mycorizzae
Fish bone meal is pure gold, lots of P slow release and minerals
Alsoā€¦im thinkingā€¦the alfalfameal and the blood meal are fast releasing Nā€¦very fastā€¦