Ph is not staying

So I bought a dwc system had some plants in soil and transferred them to the system and having a hard time keeping ph where I want it, am using gh nutes. They seem to like it but the ph in less than 24 hours is back up. Using fox farm down.I washed all the dirt off before putting in. I put water in and air let chlorine dissipate than nutes than ph to 5.5

8 Likes

I have found that you’re usually going to have fairly large pH swings in hydro. Especially when starting a new system. That’s why it important to do daily pH checks to monitor and adjust when needed. After a few weeks it should stabilize more. Especially since you can kinda predict the proper corrections in advance.
I wouldn’t worry that much. Just monitor it well and you’ll be fine. Good luck!
Full disclosure: I’m a DWC noob. So hopefully some other more experienced growers can chime in.
:slightly_smiling_face:

5 Likes

Chlorine will disapate in time with aeration, chloramine will not.
Did you make sure to rinse the clay pebbles well with phed water?
Ph will rise when the nutrients are consumed. How much of a ph swing are you talking?

3 Likes

The plant sure looks happy.

1 Like

hydrocorrles can suck like hell. they will always put the ph to places you don´t want it for the first week or so you can minimize this effect with 2 steps from my expirience.

1. flush the hell out of them till the dirt stops coming out (you did)
    2.before you use the corrles put them in ph balanced water at around 4.8 ph and let them soak for 24 h

in most cases 24 h later the ph will be arround 5.5 -5.8 ( for me that works)
anyone else doing it like this ?

2 Likes

What is the PPM/EC doing in the time that the ph is rising?

Hydroton and other clay pebbles can raise the ph if not presoaked in a proper (5.8) solution before use.