Pot size for autoflower in peat?

I have a bunch of auto seed and figured I might try some of them. I’m thinking of doing 7-10 gallons ,or maybe some 3 gallons. Or maybe keep them in #1s. I really have no idea. I normally start in #1s and move up to 15s. I’m in peat. Will be using Megacrop or Mills, probably. How would you approach?

6 Likes

Good topic, I’m definitely popping one more round before winter and am super curious

The hardest part to me seems to be figuring which one wants to get big, if that makes sense.

I think there’s something to the tap root having plenty of room to go deep, but idk, never tried tall skinny vs same volume wide pot.

Seems like a general rule of thumb might be as below, so it is above, size wise. I’m no expert though. At a certain point you will reach the point of diminishing returns with pot size tho, 3g is my sweet spot.

There’s quite a few auto growers/breeders here that’ll chime in better

3 Likes

Going over 3 gal had no point with my autos,the time Is Just not enough,they’ll veg for 30 days-40 at maximum.That Is my experience with soil.
With Coco,I go 1 liter pots and have huge auto plants.

5 Likes

I recently got some 3gal air pots from the thrift store. New, 6 for $5. I have some autos I want to run too. Maybe these have a use now.

6 Likes

If you re in soil I think It Is the max I would go,and a good type of pot for Faster soil dryback
If you’re in Coco,I recommend organic mixture/treat It like Living soil adding something to the mixture.

2 Likes

I’m assuming peat based, not just peat?. I run a peat/perlite mix for my photos. Any deficiencies that come up, I cause, not the soil.

2 Likes

Just keep in mind the air pots Will allow for faster drying of the substrate,that means more fertigation events,that leads to more O2 to roots=faster growth rate

3 Likes

I’m watering something every day. Not a big deal. Might be a good way to get a feel for the air pots. The size seems to fit into my program.

3 Likes