Second grow and need help with pruning or trimming

So I am currently on day 2 of flowering 12/12 and I know that it’s not necessary but if so when is the best time to get some fan leaves and excess foliage that are restricting light? I’m just nervous about it because of my inexperience and I was told that the reason I had a lot more popcorn buds and not bigger denser yield was from not doing any trimming during flower(this was during my time I was using RIU and it’s “amazing” forum LoL. Here’s a few pictures from the last few days and I am growing in a Phototron with potted soil and it’s just getting tight on space and I just started the stretch any input is welcome and remember I’m a newbie so use kindergarten talk. I will put some better pics after I wake her up later today.

20220111_113738|236x500

7 Likes

When you defoliate the idea is to make a path for the light to hit some of the lower fan leaves by clearing out some of the leaves above them (within reason). People will tell you you shouldn’t defoliate into flower cause you’ll stress the plant but I think you’d really have to go nuts to bother it. Day 2 of flip is a great time to get in there and selectively cull some fan leaves though before the plant even focuses it’s energy on flowering.

Even though I say you can I still try and do it piecemeal just in case to make sure the plant doesn’t stress over it. Trim some today, give it a day or two and trim some more.

5 Likes

Your going to be in trouble for space hope she don’t stretch much

2 Likes

Sorry, what do you mean when you said piecemeal? And I am actually in with my plant and I already have gotten rid of some of the leaves that are on the inside of the plant that are basically not needed and I’m focusing more on the little leaves touching or up against the branches of the preflower nodes and I am sorry for the long reply. I am just nervous about removing a fan leaf cause I have always been told previously on RIU lol to NEVER cut fan leaves.