Should I upgrade my light?

I’m new to indoor growing. Got a complete setup from a friend, roughly 2x3 grow tent light came with the deal. Is it sufficient or should I get a better one, if so what would you recommend?

6 Likes

200 watts and is supposed to replace a 1000 watt hps :rofl:

I would toss it for some hps/mh or hlg quantum boards based on the false advertising on the tag.

3 Likes

For 2x3, that might work for bloom. That’s 33w per sq ft.

4 Likes

I’m pretty dumb with this stuff, any link to something you think would be sufficient

What kind of budget are you looking at?

Wide range of options, depending. As they go up in price, generally, so does the quality and efficiency. Each price range has good options.

4 Likes

If you’re broke that light might just work out. If you have a few bucks you might consider upgrading. I flower in a 2x4 and run 300 watts.

3 Likes

What country are you in?

What’s your budget?

1 Like

I’d say $250 would be my budget. I was looking at this one, but its only 100w

In Canada, budget $250

I checked out MARS HYDRO TS 600W.
Hope its good for veg. Gotta be way better than florescent t5s

2 Likes

Hey @Rukus, check out this post by @Calix in my “budget” LED thread. Here’s his post:

The light he just bought is $260 CDN, but with a $30 Amazon coupon, it’s $230 CDN!

2 Likes

Not a very popular option, but gets results for cheap if you find the “parts”. 20-25w/sqft for veg, 30-35w/sqft for bloom, using just screw in led light bulbs, take the dome off. Regular keyles light sockets, or I used bathroom vanity light fixtures. I added reptile uvb bulbs (the cfls) for filling out spectrum and provide UV.

18 Likes

Checking it out thanks man!

1 Like