Thinking of trying indoor this fall, first step lighting?

So thanks to OG my interest has been piqued to try indoor growing. I’ve got lots of experience with the sun and soil, but never tried indoor with a tent.

So I’ve been shopping around, looking at lighting, reading up on what’s supposedly good or bad. I found a few high end lights that look like good deals, but they’re also still pricey. One guy who had some Gavita 1700s actually suggested I NOT go that route and buy an EGL 750 GSR if I’m growing in a tent. I’ve read a bit about Beaudelaires SolStrip and that interests me as well. I’d prefer something reliable and that doesn’t need upgrading after one grow. Looking at 4X4 or 5X5 tents, and that can be discussed too. I’d like to be in the $500-1000 range.

So lets have some suggestions on what works for you, ballpark prices etc. I’m in Canada, so that could factor in as well. Appreciate any help.

13 Likes

www.growlights.ca has reasonable prices

3 Likes

I use this one in one of my 4x4 tents

I use an HLG 550 v2 in another tent. this is a lot cheaper.

4 Likes

I usually buy my lights from Kingbrite straight from factory through Alibaba

Meanwell drivers, mostly Samsung diodes on them and they’re cheaper than paying a company to middle man them to you.

You’ll get hit with around $40 import fee through Fedex but it still works out to a good price

7 Likes

If you are ‘handy’ there’s always the DIY route.
But the gap between DIY and COTS is generally growing less these days.

Cheers
G

7 Likes

Think I prefer the bar style

I like that the Chinese are using Samsung and Meanwell, but still leery of having to ship if there’s any warranty issues.

I have no problem assembling stuff. But yes, I’ve noticed it doesn’t save you as much as I’d think it would have.

4 Likes

HLG Canada has a 25% off Fourth of July sale (???) with a discount that shows up in your cart on right now, you could double up these kits in a 5x5 for a nice spread: