Sound Med music

I am an audio engineer and producer, and I work with a percussionist who was in Weather Report and Parliament-Funkadelic, and also played with Jerry Garcia, Bob Dylan and many others. He is also known for his shamanistic new age trance drumming, and we tossed this concept around for awhile, and finally made it a reality awhile ago. With his trance drumming it has been noticed that he was able to transfer some of his consciousness to the listener, who would meditate and focus on the music, and would eventually end up in the same relaxed state as the drummer, if they allowed themselves to. Our concept was that we would do a Cd that had songs that were inspired by indica and songs that were inspired by sativa, so the entire process of writing and recording and mixing each of the songs was done while under the influence of specific strains of marijuana. The CD starts off with long and highly energized sativa song, and then gets less energized and shorter with each song and type of strain, until about halfway through the CD when it slips in to indica mode, and then slows down to a very stoned out longer vibe by the last song. The progress is meant to be incremental and gradual. It is best to smoke some sativa at the beginning of the sativa songs, and then smoke some indica when it switches over to indica mode. We also did a hybrid CD, and are working on a CD of concentrates. You can listen to them for free on bandcamp. Check them out here:

I am interested in any feedback or ideas from people after listening to the music - what you think of the concept, the music, and how it made you feel. Keep in mind that this is shamanistic drumming and not typical “songs” in the traditional sense

7 Likes

I can’t say it’s my particular type of music, but as a musician and audio engineer myself, hopefully I can give some advice.