Springtime outdoor harvest

I was wondering if anybody else did this.I have been growing for 15 years and have been doing this from day 1. I live in inland southern California in a garden zone 8.I get clones about the first week of January veg them 18/6 8 weeks inside under T-5s and then flower them outside. I have grown outdoors in the “normal season” and light dep. But I seem to get some of my best Quality in the springtime

8 Likes

Very interesting, I couldn’t do this where I live but see how beneficial this could be.

1 Like

Yeah I did it this spring, socal doesn’t get enough light to keep anything in veg except from late may/early June (basically right now) through mid July.

You need some kind of supplemental light to veg them up to the size and shape you want, but once you stop supplementing, they’ll flower. I’ve read posts by other people who grow nearly year-round this way, pulling plants whenever they want to flip them.

I just cut this jealousy like a week ago, and I have some smaller plants in 2 gal fabric pots I need to harvest in the next few days before they get any ideas about revegging.

10 Likes

Yes, I live in Australia i’ve been growing just over 20 years and in the last 10 years I’ve been doing this. I’ve had to do it because at least 95% of what I have growing has come from clones I need to bring them in to give them extra hours of light until the end of November

Some years when the sun is good, these plants grow quite big And it gets quite a lot of work to bring them in and put them out again each day so I break the plants into two groups then I alternate each group comes in every second night this seems to be enough to stop them going into flower

Sometimes in summer when the days are long. I bring them in after 12 hours so they can flower

2 Likes