There is always a puff of odor that makes it through the carbon filter at lights off

I’ve brought this up on other forums in the past, so I’ll bring it here and see if there is any new insight about this…

I’ve been growing indoors for over two decades now, and I can say that this has always been a thing. I’ve tried changing things out over the years, experimented with a few hypotheses, and I’ve never been able to prevent this puff of odor from occurring. It’s so much like clockwork, literally, that I can always know when the lights just turned off because I’ll smell that sweet smell all throughout the house for a few brief minutes before it disappears and doesn’t come back for another 24 hours or so.

To this day, I don’t know what causes it. I also never see anyone mention it, which is confusing to me since it’s a real thing. My primary guess is that when plants detect that night time has come, they must release a large amount of moisture that overwhelms the carbon filter for a few minutes. But this is just my guess.

Does anyone want to talk about this? Have you experienced it? If not, why is this such an ever-present circumstance for me, in my gardens? Again, I’ve been doing this for twenty-something years and it’s always been a thing since I first started using carbon filters. In the beginning I thought it was something I was doing, or bad carbon or something… But now I just accept it and make sure my timer never shuts off when I would be having visitors.

5 Likes

I have experianced that when the RH goes ape shit, over 70+% the carbon scrubber looses effect. Not all, but it’s not nearly as effective.

But if it’s a case of damp carbon, it wouldn’t just last for a minute and go away again.
Would take a bit to dry out the carbon

Do you have any fan’s running on timers, so you might loose the negative pressure in your grow area for a few min or something?

Also just gone back to industrial filters, after trying an Eco Carbon scrubber.