Top soil for making potting soil?

Is anyone else tired of spending hard earned money for bug infested pre amended potting soil?. I’m just getting into the organic living soil growing method and let me tell you… Buying an infestation of thrips and other pests in the soil has got to be the most painful thing to happen to a home grower. You get it back home and got your tiny seedlings all ready for the new soil but wait … Is that? No it can’t be. F-in bugs on my nugs!!! And to think I have nurtured and loved this little girl since birth and now she’s getting attacked by little bitty bugs that I unknowingly paid for, so what now I ask myself… Outside she goes to get the awesome light from the sun :sunny: but now it has infested all of your nice new gear from the exhaust fan and ductwork to the clip on fans and led grow lights, all of it is now tainted by a purchase of a pre amended potting soil. So I ask … Is it possible to get a uninfested bag of your favorite soil and so far the answer is no.
Was thinking about trying to mix my own soil together and ammend it myself, but do I use top soil with so called peat moss in it? Can I actually make a living soil from a few ingredients and will it still buffer the pH? Do I need to supplement it with lime? All these questions and more … Please feel free to comment and any advice is more than welcome :hugs::grin:

1 Like

I was having the same issues grow after grow (ProMix & local ingredients)…

But, I have had excellent success with Black Swallow Living Soils KIS mix. (Canada)

https://blackswallowsoil.com/product/kis-mix-blended-soil-651

Not. One. Bug. :heart_eyes: ever…
I’d expect the same results from KIS mix in the US.

Cheers
G

2 Likes

Here’s my soil building thread
Do urself a favor and kick the peat out the pic and use coir instead

Lime is to balance peat that can swing down to 5, coir is neutral at 7 so if u use coir then no lime needed either, the compost should be acidic enough to put u in the sweet spot