Alex's Aquaponic Adventures (with a bit of a extra Hydro)

Hello everyone,

I am glad to be here in a community of knowledgeable growers, sharing what has worked and failed for me. I would like to use this topic to discuss my grows, and get feedback to improve.

I started playing with aquaponics about 10 years ago by building a 3 IBC tote system and some 55 gallon barrel systems. I followed Rob Bob’s Aquaponics channel and modeled my systems of the ones i watched him build.

the systems have been great producers of strawberry, tomato, leafy greens etc. I have them stocked with a variety of fish (some channel cats, bluegill, and some goldfish)

this year, planted a few clones taken from my indoor, and put them in the system (although they didnt get planted till quite late in the growing season) though the plants are not massive they are nearing the end of flowering and have quite nice buds.

am looking forward to growing in these guys for a full outdoor aquaponics powered grow for next year.

here are a couple short vids on TikTok showing the systems

IBC tank system

barrel system

as well as a couple pics

in addition to the aquaponics, have a dedicated 10 x 10 ish area in my shed where will be growing hydroponically in a RDWC system based on totes and a sump. here are a couple pics from that setup and last little harvest from my indoor 3x2 tent.

24 Likes

That is a cool set up! You go Alex.

:green_heart: :seedling:

4 Likes

While I don’t know that I’ll ever venture into this growing style, its cool to see you putting it in action. Following along!

1 Like

Very cool @Alexander i have always thought this was such a great way to grow. Never had the pleasure though. Definitely be watching your adventures.

1 Like