Breeder Etiquettes

I’m new to breeding, and going to be starting some personal breeding projects, soon. I’ve noticed that there are various unwritten “rules” or proper etiquette to breeding. I want to make sure I’m not missing/adding any! I know that there are some debates over a few of these, and most come down to the specific situation.

For instance, I know it’s not cool to F2 or S1 someone else’s current/new work, without their permission. But if that specific strain is no longer in production, has been discontinued, or the breeder has no plans to further the line, then it should be okay.

What about the name game? Obviously, renaming someone else’s strain is not acceptable, but what about crosses? Once crossed, should it be renamed? Or should it be labeled as the parental polyhybrid cross, until it’s taken further to a complex polyhybrid?

What about testing? Seems that there is very little testing being done, if anything other than a germ test. I hear a lot about herms popping up, instability, or unwanted mutations.

Is there a standard for a proper selection process? Should breeders that are hunting through 100’s to 1000’s of plants be lumped together with the ones that are only hunting through just a few plants?

Any others that I’ve left out?

Thoughts/opinions?

I believe complete transparency is the key.

18 Likes

Eh, if you’re breeding only for yourself or to give away to some people you know personally, f2 or s1 any and every thing you want. There’s no contract or anything.
It’s only out of respect that we don’t do co-op seedruns on currently available genetics. We only do seedruns on discontinued stuff so the breeder still had all the chances to get paid for their hard work. But if I decide to pop some Mephistos, best believe I’m making more seeds for myself and a few others solely because they make it so difficult to order from them. I’m still not gonna post them all over the net tho to give away, out of respect.