Breeding and Legal Legislation

Hello everyone,

A bit confused…and apologies for any silly question I could raise.

Let’s assume I could grow legal for example, in some country where 4 plants or more are permitted for personal use. ( Canada, Spain for example)
How can I do breeding legally? Can I actually? Or for breeding or I am an industrial producer with license or I will still be an underground hacker?

Thanks for any clarification

4 Likes

Howdy @Rhizome, if you can grow more than 4 plants I would suggest keeping population sizes as close to a minimum of 30 for your breeding efforts whenever possible.

Breeding isn’t necessarily about the numbers because great plants can be found and utilized even if only one seed is started. It mostly comes down to potential. Sort of like have you given enough chance for the genetics to express themselves for you to select from. Finding valuable traits in a group of 30 plants should be easier than finding the same traits in just one seed.

If there is a real passion for the work and plants, I don’t think the number of plants determine hack or not. To me a hack is just someone chucking pollen or creating seeds without much passion. They just make something to sell on the market. If you have a genuine passion, you are breeding and not a hack in my opinion. The amount of plants or the scope of the work irrelevant at that point. Looking into the progeny and growing the resulting seeds is a lot more than many current breeders selling seeds in the market today are doing.

The use of many individual plants in a breeding scheme can most certainly be useful but doesn’t guarantee anything. This is where the art of breeding and the energy of the breeder and their heart comes into play I think.