Exploring Bubble Hash Yields: Flower vs. Trim

I’ve been diving into the world of bubble hash lately, and I need some clarification on a puzzling matter. Maybe I’m missing something, but there seems to be a discrepancy in the information out there. Numerous sources claim that making bubble hash from flower doesn’t yield as well as using trim. Now, here’s the kicker - one explanation I stumbled upon suggests that the trichomes in full buds get trapped and don’t wash out, and breaking up the flower would also break up the heads. It sounds a bit dubious to me, but hey, maybe I’m just a noob in the fine art of hash making.

So, here’s my dilemma. If trim can produce hash that meets my standards, why would slightly broken up nuggets be worse? I’m just thrilled to be getting a ton of free hash from stuff I was ready to toss in the compost bin. But I don’t want to waste my time or flower. I could give it to the homeless if it’s not going to wash.

My experience with bubble bags has been primarily with trim, and the yield has been mind-blowing. Last night, I ran two 1-gallon freezer bags of trim leaf in 5-gallon buckets. Admittedly, I ran the material three times, stirring by hand with a tiny paddle. The times were a bit longer than recommended – 15 minutes, 10 minutes, and 6 minutes – but, hey, I was getting a bit lazy. Surprisingly, I wasn’t seeing any green, and I decided to call it quits because, well, boredom and the desire to smoke took over. I still have 80% of the hash from the first trim run i did many months (a year?) ago.

Now, I find myself with 4-5 plants’ worth of dried and cured flower that doesn’t quite tickle my taste buds. I’ve already made more butter and edibles than I need, so we’re talking about at least half a pound of flower I don’t want, maybe even a full pound.