Found thrips. What can be done?

I see these patches and under a scope they look black but embedded into the leaf like I can scrape it off, but doesn’t brush or blow off. That’s under 60x

Can’t find any bugs. Just one plant out of 6. Worried they may be spider mites. Never had those before.

5 Likes

I am not a bug expert, but from my limited experience they do not look like spider mite eggs to me. Perhaps some insect poop? Those dark green(?) things.

Their eggs are spherical, and pretty transluscent…

3 Likes

I just find it coincidental each place where it looks damaged has these black things. Real real tiny

But it’s also weird that given all the areas I spotted. They wouldn’t have spread. Or created webbing. Or shown themselves. Just scanned the plant for a good half hour and couldn’t find any bugs

3 Likes

Probably not a coincidence at all - there may be an insect that ate some leaf, pooped some, and moved on.

I’ve had some chew the edges of the leaves then vanish.

Hope they are not mites, those things suck.

2 Likes

And yes. Those dark green dots. They look black to the naked eye.

3 Likes

I hope not either. I’ve never dealt with them and don’t want to. I’d rather just scrap everything and take a break for a few months and pray they have left

1 Like

Here is a closer look at the picture.

3 Likes

My guess is fly shit!

4 Likes

I’m baffled. I just spent about an hour searching and still stumped.

The damage looks like a virus of some sorts or thrip damage. I find it hard to believe these are droppings. Under magnification they look like sap. They are stuck to the leaves. I have to use my fingernail to scrape it off. I figure droppings would blow off or brush off.

Only one plant is having this despite this plant touching 3 nearby plants. Wouldn’t bugs have travelled?

I’m wondering if I should cull it to save the rest of my garden in case it is a bug.

1 Like

It’s thrips.

Just took another look at them under a none panicked state.