Getting lower EC runoff Coco

Hi guys,this Is concerning me.I set up 2 plants in Coco and this Is my First Time with It.I Always pH to 5,7-8-9 max and use Canna nutrients as they state It with 50% strenght.
My plant is 17ish day old and the runoff Is going Always lower than inflow.Example:
Reservoir water pH 5,83 EC 0.7
Runoff:EC 0.5
And It keeps decreasing…should I up the nutrients?
This Is true to all of my plants having lower runoff than inflow.
Using canna Coco A&B

4 Likes

Pretty sure the runoff is supposed to be lower EC than the inflow… that means they’re using the nutrients. If anything, I would think the runoff only being 0.2 lower than the inflow means they’re getting too much, but if they’re not showing signs of excess there’s probably no need to back off. Take all this with a grain of salt, though, I don’t do hydro. :slight_smile:

3 Likes

It Is like 480 us/cm going out and in 670,so basically It is 0.2 EC difference*

1 Like

I would not worry about the runoff, I don’t check mine at all. Don’t over think things, plants look good, let er buck.

3 Likes

Just saw Little Orange spot in the edges of One leaf,that Is why I was worried
@DougDawson

@Cormoran

2 Likes

Are you using tap or RO water? Do you add calcium or magnesium?

1 Like

Tap with municipal analisis 25 mg/l Magnesium and 38 mg/liter Calcium
@DougDawson
Those are only in this leaf and are 2-3 days old
I also pH down with citric acid from Biobizz,and After I pH water It Always shows lowered ppms values

2 Likes

The leaf tips & margins are burning. That can be a sign of cal/mag deficiency, yes… it can also be a sign of phosphorus/potassium excess, though, which also causes cal/mag deficiencies due to lockout. :wink: Given the 0.2 difference, I’d be inclined to say they’re getting slightly burned, but that wouldn’t be enough to really concern me if this is the only sign they’re showing.

2 Likes