HIGH PRESSURE SODIUM COMBINED WITH METAL HALIDE

Who still runs these dinosaurs :t_rex::sauropod::t_rex::sauropod: lol this is my very first attempt to grow an I got given to me 2 ballists an 2 lights 1 is a 1,000 what HPS an the other is a 600 watt MH

5 Likes

nice. i don’t use them any more but they’re great if they’re free. i wouldn’t go out and buy them though. gonna be a pain controlling heat. i had mine mounted to the top of a box with a bathroom fan cooling it. that was 20 years ago, damn.

3 Likes

lol I still run those dinosaurs :roll_eyes: haven’t been able to find an led that outperforms 1000w mh and hps.
I’m sure it’s out there but I’m not spending 1500 or more to find out. Call me ol fashioned, or maybe a bit stubborn lol

14 Likes

I rock both. Led mess around tents and hid for my large areas. Led cannot match hids in large areas and the leds really start to consume electric once you go larger so no savings there less herb and heat is not an issue in my spaces now 1000 in a 4x4 yes will be damn hot. I think you’re off to a great start with hids and info here. You rocking both mh and hps together or separate veg and flower areas? My buddy swears by the combo for his flower and i cannot argue with his results. Best of luck and happy grows​:beers::fire::fire::fire:

5 Likes

First grow an ya it got hot today 95 for few hrs anywho who do they look so far only got 2

4 Likes

I was taught to run both in flower.
either one to one or two HPS and one Halide.
My main rooms were 3 x 1000W HPS and 2 x 1000W Metal Halide.
Later I switched to NH940 conversion bulbs for both the spectrum and they ran on a metal halide ballast. Expensive though. They looked like a HPS tube inside a Halide bulb. I still have one but not sure what kind of life is left in it.