How to install 240v circuits

Hey, guys I was wondering if you guys have any pointers as to what I should read or watch to learn how to do this. Im a total noob to this and dont want (arent willing) to pay an electrician to do it for me. I dont know anyone or trust anyone to help me in my area to do this for me. Thanks! Im in the USA by the way.

2 Likes

Brother, 220V is not child’s play and not for noobs. Tell the electrician you want an extra dryer. Once the circuit is in, you can kill the circuit and change out the plug or something, but carefully consider opening up a panel and playing with 220V if you have no experience in there.

:cloud_lightning:

9 Likes

Haha I hear that. I cant call any electrician at my spot. Id have to move all my plants somewhere else. I cant put them out in the back yard either.
From the videos I have seen, cant I just add the 220v circuit to my existing panel box? Or is it better to use a panel box for only my grow.

3 Likes

If there is plenty of room in the box, you should be able to expand circuit count.

Good luck with that.

:four_leaf_clover:

3 Likes

If you cannot have a friendly sparky do the panel work for you, youtube is your best friend. Here’s an overview.

I do not recommend doing this on your own the first time around.

But, if you do, make sure the grounding wire is in
Make sure your connectors that hold the wire to the enclosure are tight enough but not damaging the insulation
Leave lots of service length on the wire, you can always cut it later
size your breaker to the wire rating; the breaker is ONLY there to protect the wire really
Consider using GFI protection if a circuit is being used within 4 feet of water
Use a strip gauge to see how much insulation you need to remove