Hydrococo 60/40

Hello guys,
Tried to find post about this medium but there is nothing. Does someone tried this coco? I do some research and guys in other forums said that you can get result like in dwc if you water this coco 3-5 times a day. It can be or this is nonsense?

https://www.growell.co.uk/growing-media/coco/gold-label-hydrococo-60-40-mix.html

3 Likes

Interesting stuff, I’m inexperienced with clay balls but I reckon you could water it 3-5 times a day in the right sized container. I don’t know about results like dwc. you will never know how good it works for you till you have a go, 45 litres for 15 quid ain’t bad either I reckon.

1 Like

I have no experience with clay/coco, only coco with perlite.

Coco college. This is a good reference for new coco growers.

7 Likes

Thank you, good articles! I was thinking to go on 21liter pots with dripper watering and drain to waste saucers. But now maybe its better to go wtih smaller pots like 16l or smaller.

1 Like

I found it super easy to over water bigger pots but everyone else does just fine. I think a general rule of thumb suggested to me is 1 gallon (4 litres ish) per month the plant is alive, saying that. I’m growing in 1L pots that are two thirds full so nothing is a hard yes/no but it does keep my plants smaller.

1 Like

Read somewhere for couple times that you cant overwater with coco so its a lie? Im going to grow 1.20-150m plants so i think i should with 16liter fabric pots. Whats your opinion?

1 Like

Yes, that is a lie. You can over water pure coco easily. If you add some perlite, it’s much harder to over water, but it’s always possible. Coco provides more air than peat and less water, so it’s harder to over water, but still possible.

Pot size depends on how frequently you want to feed. You can grow a 1.5m plant in a liter if you can water 4-6x per day. 16L pots is probably a good size for hand feeding once per day.

5 Likes