Just need some advice about growing medium

Newbie here, I’m approaching the week I’d like to flip, and I’m a little worried about my medium as I’ve only ever been able to feed/water three times during veg. I’m running in straight Promix HP+added perlite. I really should’ve considered buying some Happy Frog or some other soil to mix in a while before my plants were put into my five gallon buckets…

But well, here I am. I have three plants approaching week 8 of veg in my 2x2x55" tent, and the medium takes just under a week and a half to dry out. I’ve only got one fan in there, so ventilation might be my true problem [I’m ordering another this Friday].

I have considered buying some fabric pots, but I am a little worried about transplanting them for a second time. The last transplant wasn’t too hard on them, but, they are three times the size of what they were now, and some roots are coming out the holes I drilled in the bottom…

Just unsure what to do

Picture just for fun

10 Likes

A week and a half is a long time between waterings. What size are those pots?

I use plastic pots and roots always come out of the bottom. Transplant whenever you like. I tousle the roots if they’re really wound together.

What are you feeding them?

They look good.

4 Likes

Keep doing what your doing, they do look happy.

5 Likes

I agree. Your plants look great. :grin:

2 Likes

Your plants look good.

Did you put holes in the buckets for drainage?
That seems like a really long time to dry out between watering.

3 Likes

Everything does look great, but I agree with the others , I rarely get 3 days even after transplant/uppot .

2 Likes