Morphology or Genetic expression?

Hey all. I’m fairly new to this site but I’ve been online in the space since 2014 (mostly Trollitup), and have been growing on and off since '94. My first couple weeks on the site have been great. Og seems a much more active, positive, and helpful community than the other sites I’ve been apart of . Anyway, on to the topic…

I have a strain that I’ve been growing since 2018 called Orkle (Purple Urkle x Tahoe Og). I cloned my favorite pheno and have produced S1s and F1s from it. Unfortunately I lost the clone, but have continued working with the seed stock that I have. I say all this only to establish that I’m pretty familiar with this line. So on to my question.

I have noticed something odd that happens every once in a while when i run the S1s. I’ll have what appears to be 2 different bud structures on the same plant. For those familiar with the parents of the strain you’ll know that OG Kush and Urkle both have a fairly recognizable bud structure. OG typically produces spear shaped flowers and Urkle produces round and super dense little grenade buds. Once in every 3 or 4 runs I get plant that has both of these structures on a single plant. My current run being one of them. My question is this…is it possible for a single plant to express multiple aspects of its genetic lineage or am I just seeing morphological differences resulting from environmental factors such as light intensity or location on the plant? Here are two pics that show examples of the differences.

Thanks in advance for your feedback.

9 Likes

Dont have a good answer, but perhaps genetic mosaicism is at play.

Those look fire though.

2 Likes

Thanks for the kind words! She is a pain to grow, super prone to N toxicity, herms if you look at her wrong, and the VPD range she prefers is pretty narrow. Despite all that she remains my favorite strain for everyday use. Smells like a gassy blueberry muffin and tastes just like she smells. The high is sedative and blissful.