Nevermind, problem solved

So, while typically, I’m the guy answering people’s questions about deficiencies and problems - I’ve found myself stumped.
This is a relatively new issue that I’ve never had before and I’ve been growing for 24 years.
It presents itself like a CalMag deficiency but no matter how many times I check PH of water AND runoff, add supplemental CalMag and enrich my soul mix with calcium amendments, it just won’t stop !

The details: I only use organic methods like guanos, teas, etc.
I use rainwater, which I understand lacks minerals, so CalMag is a regular part of diet.
PH of nutrient solution is 6.3-6.5 and runoff is closer to 6.
I bring my plants outside for sun during the day and augment with LED bars to complete photoperiod

s as needed.

I keep wondering if all CalMags aren’t created equal because this time, it doesn’t matter the dose - they’re ALWAYS displaying as you see in the pics.

I’m open to thoughts about it because everything obvious is fine and in spec. :thinking::thinking:

10 Likes

Where’d you get the idea that rainwater lacks minerals? :man_shrugging:t2: My understanding is that rainwater may have less minerals than groundwater, but it should always have some. It shouldn’t be unreadable like distilled water.

My opinion? --you’re causing issues by adding more and more calmag. You’re quite literally cal-mag’ing them to death IMO

I’ve always been under the impression that organic soil grows don’t need supplemental calmag, that’s mostly if not strictly a hydroponics thing :man_shrugging:t2:

14 Likes

Too much Calcium blocks Magnesium, it’s better and fastest to use a foliar spray of Epsom salts when needed … beer3|nullxnull

19 Likes

While it’s not zero minerals, it’s very very low - especially where I live (Northern edge of Cali and Oregon) because the air is very clean.