Organic no-till soil grow

Hey guys glad to join this friendly community!

I’ve been lurking a lot of the posts here for quite a few months. I now feel I’m ready mentally and financially to start sourcing things out, so I’m just going to lay out my plan and would love to hear some feedback.

For my tent I was looking at a gorilla grow 4x4. I don’t want anything huge but also don’t want to build my setup just for 1 or 2 plants. I’ll be connecting a 4 or 6 inch online fan to a carbon filter for the smell.

As far as lights it looks like the SolStrips are the way to go. What would be the most efficient setup to go with in a 4x4? I am a contractor so no worries about assembling something if I need too.

As far as the soil I have been doing a ton of research on no-till living soil. I have read almost all of the big organic soil threads on icmag and grasscity which have a wealth of knowledge(thanks @ReikoX for the links I found in another thread).

So I’m looking at:
1 part high grade compost and/or vermicompost
1 part sphagnum peat moss
1 part rice hulls/lava rock/pumice

Which per cu ft I will amend with:
1/2 cup kelp meal
1/2 cup neem meal
1/2 cup oyster shell powder
1/2 cup crab meal
1/2 cup gypsum
4 cups basalt

I’ll be mixing the soil and letting that sit for roughly 2 months, then when I plant I will be watering with aloe, fulvic acid and silica once a week. And also powdered malted barley roughly once a week.

How does this all sound to the organic experts?

My last question is about genetics. Seeds are extremely expensive at medical clinics and dispensaries and I have no idea what I’m buying and if it’s the real deal. Can anyone recommend some potent, hearty and ideally affordable genetics that I can get my paws on?

Thanks so much in advance, I have learned a lot from lurking and studying.

Stonedmason

Edit: I am in BC, Canada and any leads to where I can source some of these amendments affordable would be appreciated

17 Likes