Question about new strains from seed

How’s everyone on this fine Sunday? I’m in my first year of growing and I’m starting new strains from seed to find mothe plants to take clones from. I’m trying to figure out how to go about these first runs from seed. I assume that I take clones from all the plants before I flip them to flower and flower them out culling the males for now (I’ll get into breeding later on), then pick a keeper from the females and cull the rest of the clones? Just want to make sure I’m on the right track.

Another question is do y’all let your first runs from seed grow naturally (no training, topping, trellising, etc.)?

3 Likes

I will generally run strains a minimum of 2 times. Your first run can give you a good idea of which ones to keep. Second run usually solidifies that observation…
But yes take clones, run the seed plants, cull the clones of the obvious losers, clone and run the rest again, and then make a decision…
Sometimes it takes 3 or 4 runs if 2 are similar.

2 Likes

@Dewb

Thanks for the info. I guess I’m heading on the right path.

Do you top your first runs? Ive been contemplating it so I can get a better yield in case I do get a good keeper ill have more smoke… Or should I worry more about figure out the natural structure of the plant on the this run then on the second run go for yield?

1 Like

I always top. But that’s my personal preference…

1 Like

@Dewb
Cool. I’m just now coming over to photo’s from auto’s and I would top my autos if they looked like they could handle it (had great results). But I’m thinking about topping the plants at 2ft then letting them get closer to 3ft before flipping them to the flower tent.

2 Likes

Just remember that they will likely stretch a bit during the first 2-3 weeks of flower. Some can triple in size… but you won’t know until they do it, then make a note about that plant’s stretch in flower so you can plan for it next round.