Transplant before or after the flip

I am fairly new to og and i love all the cool info and generous people around, couldnt speak highly enough of it… ive been growing for a good part of my life but am looking for some advice. I have a bunch of seed plants that are ready to flower but only a few have pre flowers that in 100% on. Do you guys think i should cut the lights back, sex them and then transplant into final containers or transplant before i switch the lights and then cull males. Im just worried about stressing them with a transplant during flower but itd save me a lot of work and pots. What do you all think?

4 Likes

Transplant 1 - 2 weeks b4 flip so the roots can fill the new shoes. Bigger roots bigger fruits.

5 Likes

It depends on what your end goal is IMO. For instance if you’re vegging in 1 gallons and flowering in 5 gallons and you need to keep the plants shorter, transplant into bigger pots a week or two into flower. If you want them to just about fill the pot by the end of flower transplant and flip.

The only time I ever transplant while in flower is when I need to keep them small.

6 Likes

FWIW

I was planning 4 plants in 3 gallon pots but ended up with only 3 plants. I moved them up to 5 gallons at ~2 weeks into flower.

No issues, just be gentle.

2 Likes

I have done them like that and have just started the 12/12 and removed the males then repot

to the final pot

give them some flower ferts and they should show their sex

after growing for many many years I have found if the plant is not prone to Hermies

you have to work at stressing them out

all the best and enjoy the day

Dequilo

3 Likes