Do feminized seed plant produce seed?

I was wondering last night if I was to plant a feminized seed and pollinated the resulting plant with a different variety would the plant produce viable seed?

2 Likes

Would be a reg seed then as you’d be introducing a male pollen component so results will be male and female

On the other hand if you reversed a female plant and got female pollen then the results of pollenating a female with said pollen would make all female as there was no male genetic material to make male seeds

12 Likes

I’ve had a few people say that they heard plants from feminized seed will be sterile and not produce seed… who the hell knows who spreads these lies.

7 Likes

no sorry i dont know lol follow the money

4 Likes

Yeah I’ve heard they would be sterile too, but maybe they’re talking about a female plant that hermies because of stress and self pollinates?

2 Likes

@Pug-love that doesnt have to be sterile, i am no expert but have run seeds from a random nanner fem

1 Like

I have no doubt it will produce regular male and female seeds. Perhaps of some quality. What I wonder is will it affect the future generations?

2 Likes

If you hit it with reg pollen you’ll get regular seeds both males and females

If you reverse or force it to produce male flower( Cordiality silver works ) the pollen will produce female seeds On any of your plants

Hope this is helpful

7 Likes

Thanks for all the replies. I’m gonna give it a go when the time comes. Peace

Sad but true, money and greed seem to make the lies and bs arise. Peace

1 Like

I’m more of an “Ignorance fills the void with Bullshit” kind of guy, myself. They don’t have a clue so rather than say hmm dunno better go check, they make up some lies they think will pass as truth to cover up ignorance.

5 Likes

Triploid seeds make sterile plants.
Crossing a diploid plant with a tetraploid plant results in triploid offspring. These are also known as Terminator seeds.