Fabric Pots for indoor growing

Hi guys, as a novice I was wondering if my 5 gallon (19litre) fabric pots are big enough.
Thanks.

4 Likes

What medium are you going to use?

4 Likes

Try different sizes, discover what you like best.

Keep weight in mind, when you have living soil that successfully retains water, they weigh a lot.

Don’t assume that you’ll never have to move your pots.

20 liters, that’s the equivalent of 2 buckets of water in 1 pot.

You can also choose to only fill them with half the volume of soil.

4 Likes

I use 3 gallon inside, and transplant if I get to big,… all fabric pots.

5 Likes

I did my first grow in a 5 gallon home depot bucket and 5 gallons is about as big as I’d go indoor. When I got my air pots I opted for 3 gal and still grow trees. I actually just broke my “never again 5 gal” rule and ordered a 5 gal air pot cause I’m growing a strain I’ve been looking forward to forever. I’m willing to dedicate a light and a tent to this plant alone or I wouldn’t attempt it in a 5 gal with the other 2 I’m growing.

2 Likes

It depends what you want to do really.

I like 3G indoors because I grow shrubs not trees. I’ve done 5Gs before and it worked very well but I prefer the 3G.

I have a 2x4 tent and can fit 3 5G plants or 4 3G plants.

I try to make the best most productive use of the space. And I like variety.

9 Likes

3 5g in a 2X4? I train pretty hard and 2 would still be a encroaching on each other! What kind of light?

2 Likes

You are right, the canopy was a bit out of control on that one :slight_smile: It’s one of the reasons I prefer the 3s not 5s.

I’ve discovered I have a preference for medium sized plants and I train for short bushes.

I have a 300w LED.

1 Like

I’ve found 3 to be the sweet spot too and with mainling and quadlining I’ve found I can keep plenty of headroom. The downside is they have a wider footprint.

1 Like

I’m running 5 gal bags right now and I feel like it’s a bit overkill. 3 gal would do better.

6 Likes