Growing with Air-Pots? Suggestions & tips please & thank you!

G’day everyone!

I’m really interested in starting to use Air-pots for my new 2x4 tent set-up and was curious of any tips and tricks y’all would suggest for a first time user? I’ve been seeing them in many grow journals here and have jotted down some notes gleaned from the entries.

I was “thinking” about using 4x #5 (green bottom) air-pots for the 2x4 tent but not sure if this is a good or bad idea. Because they dry out so fast I intend to use Promix BX and hand water slowly until I can set-up some rain-rings and a pump with timer.

Thanks everyone for your info pool!

5 Likes

I’ve been using them for a few years now and like them a lot. I’m so used to them that the watering doesn’t seem excessive to me but I’ve heard others not like that aspect. The rain ring or a blumat type deal should eliminate that issue nicely.

As far as tips they’re pretty straight forward. The only thing I can think of that’s different than any other pot is that you have to pack the soil into the points on the side as you go. It takes more soil than you’d think to pack the sides in.

7 Likes

Now THAT is a great tip! Thanks so very much @Slick1 . Your journal was one of the ones I was mentioning in my initial post. Very inspiring work :fist: .

In your opinion, am I pushing it with thinking 4x green base (pot no. 5) will fit in a single 2x4 tent?

3 Likes

Yeah that’s a little tight. Give me a few minutes and I’ll get you some pics. I let the plants get big enough that 2 would be max. Others don’t mind a crowded tent and might be ok with three encroaching on each other. 4 seems like pushing it.

1 Like

The pics posted out of order but it gives you an idea. I’m in a slightly oversized 2x4. The five gallon buckets are pretty close to the 5 gal airpot minus a tray at the bottom of the bucket, slightly smaller than with tray at the opening of the bucket.