Experimental Simple Hydro Grow

Hey yall, first time grower here. I figured being a beginner, I got nothing to lose so I might as well try experimenting and learn mistakes as I go along. The main aim is that I want to develop my own method that isn’t too complicated and easy to maintain.

Grow Method
Rice hulls/husks will be used in place of the traditional expanded clay pellets. I’ll be opting for a hybrid hydro/kratky grow style where I have the air stones at the bottom of the bucket but I won’t be refilling the reservoir until there’s 1/5 water left.

Nutrition
For the nutes, I’ve made my own custom mix using MasterBlend’s Hydro 5-11-26 as the base. This will be the only formula used throughout the grow as to not complicate things. You can check out the formula here. I’ll also be adding hydroguard and pro-tekt silica to the reservoir.

Pest Control
Neem Oil with natural surfactant sprayed once a week.

Strain
Terpgasm by Solfire Gardens, generously gifted to me by my sister.

Germination
I originally started off with popping 3 seeds in rockwool cubes but unfortunately 2 died from over watering them. Lesson learned :sob:

Week 2 from Germination

I realized at this point I had to place the light farther away and lessen the nutes.

Week 3

Week 4

Made quite a few changes during this week. I drilled two holes to the side of the bucket and put the tubes through there. The past couple of weeks I noticed some bugs crawling about and some sprouts started to appear so I decided to repot it but this time with the rice hulls boiled for about 5 minutes. Towards the end of week I finally noticed the roots poking out so I filled the reservoir with 1.2 EC (0.2~ EC from tap water)

Week 5

Added foil to make sure no light leak. Water pH was at 6.5, so I squirted some phosphorus-based pH down in there. Didn’t check what was the pH after.

Week 6

pH measured at 5.5, didn’t do anything.

Notes so far