How to Identify lineage?

Let me preface this by saying 1) I’m new to growing, just weeks into my 3rd grow and 2) I’m more ignorant about this than the average bear. So when I began searching for some seeds to begin my journey with in may of 2023, I discovered a local organic shop was selling packs of 6 for $50, at the time I didn’t even know I could just buy some on the internet. I had done enough research to know I was looking for a hybrid to explore for health related effects and yet I just grabbed the 1st pack that had an interesting name “Rainbow Pound Cake”. I was told the breeder was an uncle of theirs out in Oregon, they have no online presence, no real info about their seedstock and that while my 1st grow was a pitfall of mistakes and small yield, it was literally the best aroma and smoke I’ve had. If you can imagine skunky, a flowery boutique, combined with sweet fruit and for a short period a rotting fruit smell while in flower and straight flowery and skunky while smoking. I had it THC tested more out of curiosity than anything because I had such low expectations for my 1st attempt and it tested came out at 20% thc and 4% cbd, had no idea if that was good or bad at the time. So here goes, is it even possible to discover the parentage of this plant? The naming of strains, seems sometimes completely wonky to me and of course at the risk of an unknown breeder, who knows if a name is accurate towards it’s parentage. Also I saved every seed I found while consuming my harvest, a good a 30-35 seeds, I swear nothing hermed and never even saw a nanner(?) and fully intend to grow these again. My apologies for the roundabout story telling to get to the question. Edited in a pic of the packaging with breeder name

19 Likes

Post the pack and breeder and you may be able to get some more help.

4 Likes

Here is the Google version