I AM A BELIEVER!

I truly believe that we are not alone. And not just when smoking my favorite plant.

Usually I sit in front of my fireplace, so that the smoke and odor can go right up the chimney. I listen to classic rock and just chill. My thoughts have been returning more and more to the history of our planet.

Being an engineer, I truly admire science and scientists. I’m also impressed with how much they are able to infer from our planetary/cosmic history. Yet, it’s still all based on our current set of knowledge. There’s so many things which can’t be known that the possibilities are endless.

For instance, I had the thought recently that it’s entirely possible that Earth wasn’t always the 3rd rock from the sun. What if originally the sun was a tad bit smaller such that there was another planet between the sun and Mercury (not necessary for this theory, but interesting). If the sun were smaller, our planet would have been much colder than it is now, and Venus could have been at the perfect conditions for life. In fact, it could have been home to an advanced civilization which died out once the Sun went through it’s changes and grew bigger, possibly engulfing the planet between Mercury and the Sun. With conditions on Venus as they are, any evidence of past life would be completely wiped out or unattainable at this point. Who’s to say that this doesn’t occur again in the future, making Mars the goldilocks planet and making Earth very similar to Venus-conditions? Maybe that civilization on Venus, knowing it’s end time was near, helped to populate the Earth with the beginnings of life?