Lat 55 uk, europe and canada

High i have been using reelgorillaseeds from the uk for the past 3 years here in the uk lat 55 with some not bad results, i was wondering what other breeders and strains people use at this lat in europe and canada and what results they have had . Peace.

7 Likes

Are you using a hoop house, high tunnel, or just growing outside in the elements?

Without a light dep grow it’s almost impossible to flower Cannabis plants in Alaska to full maturity before it gets too cold as our light cycles here are very long until late in the year!

For me personally if I’m growing outdoor here at least I’m usually running Auto Flowering genetics!!

But anything that has a very short flowering cycle should mature before frost sets…

Alaskagrown

5 Likes

Thx for the reply, im growing in pots outside in my back garden, I know lat 55 is high it must be even harder for Alaska, maybe the lower lats would do well with the strains you use ?

3 Likes

I would start some autos inside and move them out as soon as the weather is warm enough. The jump start inside will help so you can harvest before the weather turns bad.

5 Likes

100% Doug thats what i have been doing and taking them out daily to harden off , im looking for diff strains for higher lats to have a go with . Peace.

4 Likes

I second @DougDawson s point about auto’s. You are going to have great results because they will blooming right at midsummer soaking up the high hours of daylight. less risk of mold too. maybe @Swe-can can ring in with what works in northern Europe.friesland is supposed to be a nice chunky strain built for northern lats.

3 Likes

I’m at 54 lat in Canada. I have tried several different photo strains outdoors, the flip does not occur until mid August and frost can come by September so I don’t thick any photo strain would work without light dep + green house as others have said. I am staggering the starts of several autos to put out this year.

4 Likes