Need Some Design Help For Rolling Trays

Hey OGers!

I’m a woodworker by trade and was recently asked to make some Groomsman’s gifts for a cousin’s upcoming wedding. The Groomsmen are all smokers and he wanted me to make custom rolling trays leaving the design up to me. I know a couple of the Groomsmen are big into the outdoors (hiking/fishing/camping/etc.) and thought that something smaller and simple that would travel well and be somewhat discreet could be cool. The dimensions are 4.5" wide x 9" long by about 1.5" thick when folded. I wanted to make it big enough to roll any sized joint yet small enough to fit in a back pocket. This is just a mock-up. The final trays will be made of walnut and have the Groomsman’s names cut and epoxy inlaid on the tops.

I wanted to stay away from a million different dishes/trays/holes that come with a large tray that would typically stay on your coffee table. My goal is something that you can take out quickly, spin up a couple of joints, then fold up quickly. The long thin line on top is to vertically hold rolling papers. The large circle will hold a grinder up to 3" wide. The smaller dish would be a place to lay finished joints or accessories, and the arrangement of holes is to put crutches or to hold up cones for packing.

I wanted to get feedback from the community on the interior layout and features of the tray. How would you lay out the interior design? What is missing or unnecessarily there? Any and all feedback would be greatly appreciated before I commit to a final design and start making them!

Thanks!!
-Jack

16 Likes

Pretty cool looking tray, nice work.

2 Likes

I like it a lot. I like the different sized holes for cones/crutches. And hard wood always looks nice, I’m a fan of Padauk myself.

Only small modification would be a finger hole in the long slat. That way I could store a poker or dab tool in that slot and get it out without flipping the tray over.

6 Likes