Seedling Problems

Hi Guys. I’m a first time grower and completely clueless, so bear with me. My seedlings are almost 3 weeks old. I’ve got an Aurora Indica and an Afghan Skunk. Both seedlings are around 3/4 inches tall, but I checked on them this morning and the Aurora is leaning to one side. Both plants have grown their true leaves, with the Aurora slightly larger than the Afghan, but I’m worried that I’ve done something wrong. I’ve read online that this leaning could be something to do with over watering. Is there any way I can fix this, or is my baby dead?

8 Likes

it might just take some time for them to get strong enough to stand. could be overwatering but i don’t know how much you’ve given them.

6 Likes

How much is too much water though? The soil around the bottom of the stalk does seem wet, but not overly wet. I spray the leaves lightly most mornings before I go to work and put water in the tray under the pot every few days, is that too much? As I said, this is my first time so I haven’t a clue what I’m doing. I live in Ireland too where its quite cold most of the time. I’m growing in an outside shed under an LED light where the temperature is around 25°c during the day, and I have a heater set up for night time that keeps the temperature around 18°c.

1 Like

you can use the top inch of your finger to get a good feel for how moist the soil should be. not soaking wet but you should feel some moisture. not sure of a better way to explain it.

1 Like

They lean to find the light source. Are they in the window?

2 Likes

As you give fluid to a potted plant, you can stop giving it fluid, as soon as you see some weeping out of the drains holes of the pot.
Another way, get to know the weight of pot with your medium dry, before you add fluid, the give fluid until it weeps, and pick it up again and feel the difference when dry, then when wet.
Watering without weeping will drive your roots upward.