Single pistil on a male sour bubble

Hello Folks,

During my gardening today I noticed a single pistil on a male sour bubble current generation. As this is my first time for this to happen i thought i should pose this question, Burn it to hell? Or cherish it with warm embrace?

Ive heard mixed theories over the years, some stating this means its herm and will lead to herm progeny, others such as dj short have claimed that it will lead to fewer males in the progeny and get rid of hermaphrodites.

Im currently undecided as to where my opinion currently sits, If you have experience or some understanding of the topic please chime in.

Together we shall decide the fate of this little green being.

14 Likes

I always say like begets like. There are so many other males to work with, why use a questionable one?

14 Likes

I say that you can’t determine from the male alone. If the females are all good, then it’s likely to be ok. If there are any intersex traits in the females, then don’t use it.

I have seen a lot of pistils in jungle spice males, and not ever seen so much as a nanner in probably 20 females grown from seed. This kind of “super female” trait is something I wish to explore. I sometimes wonder if I could use it to straighten out a female herm.

On the other hand, I have also seen it together in lines with female herms. You can’t be certain from only the male. I would say that it only indicates something either exceptionally good or exceptionally bad.

16 Likes

Do you have a quarantined area to see what it does? Or are you willing to give each calyx you find a hysterectomy? Interesting questions voiced by the others here…
On second thought no hysterectomy required I guess, it being a pollen receiver…
My brain hurts!!!

4 Likes

My own bro science says that it makes zero difference. You either have Male or female pollen. Pistils can come from stress just like vice versa. Could be high ethylene levels. STS is an ethylene blocker to give you an idea.

2 Likes