Skunk smells and an unpopular opinion

I hear and see and lo of talk about road kill skunk and other nasty smells that people reminisce about.
I’m no expert but I do a lot of thinking and observing
A strain I grew last winter and harvested at the peak with everything going right…smelled just like a coffee shop with fresh ground beans when it was drying and tasted vaguely like chestnuts
This year I took a clone and grew it out but I tried. New nutrient and bungled the early stages of this plant. Next we had a thrips infestation and the clone suffered greatly. She never really recovered.
When I harvested her the smell was not the same…it was garlic and body odor not coffee beans
Most early strains were grown outside and under lease than ideal conditions
Another strain I bought recently was golden goat and it was an outdoor grow
It was easily the most fragrant flower in the dispensary
What if what we are remembering is stressed, gorilla grown pot with a hybrid of sativa and afghan strains and the smell was the plants defense against bugs and a product of soil grown weed and natural fertilizer?

9 Likes

I can say when I was in BC as a teenager I could get some of the best BC skunk weed I have ever found and consistently for a couple years. This was grown by pros and was incredible but smelled so strong it was near impossible to carry. This stuff was well cared for and can no longer be found it seems. Breeders tried to get rid of that trait and they seem to have succeeded which is a real shame.

7 Likes

I can remember weed like that.

the kind where you have one joint inside your pack of smokes, walk past the pool table in the bar and the players stop, look at each other and ask…"you smell skunk too?:

5 Likes