Timm0828's beginner garden

Hello my name is Timm. I’m very new to growing I literally just started a week ago. My goal is to learn how to get the most out of the plant. I germinated 12 seeds from what I found in weed I bought this year and I have 5 that germinated and only 4 sprouted.

23 Likes

Hi Timm and welcome to Overgrow!!! Looks like your off to a good start. What are you using for lighting? Lots of great info here for everybody :grinning:

6 Likes

Hi Tim, welcome to OG.

I can’t tell, but in the future, consider using starter plugs for the seedlings. Transfer them to a larger pot once roots start coming out the bottom.

It’s difficult to tell the size of your peat pots but if they are too large it’ll maybe difficult to keep the soil moisture under control for this early growth state. You want to avoid over-watering and have the soil too moist. Otherwise you could encounter damping off and other problems. The soil shouldn’t feel wet … but also not completely dry.

Looks like you have these under plastic keeping the humidity fairly high, which will help protect the seedlings until they take off.

Let us know how things progress.

10 Likes

Welcome
@timm0828 aboard keep posting up pics and ask if you need help there’s some great people here
Enjoy your grow

8 Likes

I’m using dairy Doo as soil. I have em in the biodegradable pots to try and minimize stress when I put them in my large pots. I’m looking for lighting this week for when I move them into a grow tent. Right now I’m just using a florescent workbench light and have the mini greenhouse infrom of a south facing window that gets the most light.

5 Likes

First rookie mistake is big pots and overwatering. Those plants won’t need water for a couple weeks. I generally go by weight of the pot and condition of leaves.

Second is following directions on fertilizers don’t do it, I like to use 1/2 to 3/4 of the recommended amounts.