African landraces and heirloom thread

I’m no expert on the rich diversity that Africa offers, but I do know that there are over 50 countries, and an estimated 1500-2000 languages, it’s possible that there may be more cannabis lines in this continent than all the others combined due to the unique ecosystems, traditions and geographic features.

I hope that this thread can serve as a spring board for research, anecdotal accounts and information for those seeking to learn more about the African lines.

Perhaps those with experience can shed more light on the lines this continent has to offer? Calling all landrace enthusiasts, preservationists, breeders and interested parties! There are already preservationists on these forums with experience that may chime in and have invited some preservationists like love.of.landrace (IG) who are in situ to share more details!

@yaxu @Roms @Cristalin @Upstate @TheCrueltyDesk @Skyf @deeez99 @Tejas @TexasTea @Guitarzan @Pigeonman @Panamajock @Oldjoints @moka @Cormoran @WVMountainGhost @Bobgrows @MoBilly @George @CADMAN @Swe-can @middleman @Gpaw @GMan @Instg8ter @AllOra @Alta.Gama @RoryBorealis @Wuachuma @romanoweed @Trowertripper @GREANDAL @lefthandseeds @YoBigdaddy @Heritagefarms @misterbee @MissinBissin @Comacus @neogitus @Puddha @Tlander @StocktonT

If i missed anybody, i apologize - will add to the list - seen yall posting in and around the landrace thread and thought you might like to join the conversation here!

48 Likes

Can anybody comment on any specific traditional curing practices from different parts of Africa? I think that the secret to the “black magic” that people have referenced here in the west may be derived from a similar process used in “malawi style cobbing”

Below is a diagram that i stumbled upon outlines the process on the interwebs, credit to tangwena & repuk:

Could also have been a similar process that led to the famous thai sticks that people still reminisce about to this day . . .

25 Likes