Plant patents, trademarks, what are they and how do they work, Let’s discuss facts

I am no expert on this topic.
You really need to be a high level lawyer to sort through it all.
But we can give it a hell of a try… :weight_lifting_man:

Please feel free to add more facts and correct anything that may be wrong, but, please cite everything you may claim, so we can see the source of your claims.
Please do your best to refrain from adding an opinion without at least citing the source for that opinion.
It would be best if we can keep this as fact-based as possible.

NOTE: These are great starting references to read:

These are my initial take-aways from reading the above and following works:

• The pollen or seeds from a patented plant are not restricted by the patent, so a grower or other breeder can use them as they see fit, for example, to grow and breed as they see fit.

• A plant patent only protects that specific plant (genotype), so if a different breeder created a variety with the same chemical makeup as the patented plant (or the same leaf color, for example), they aren’t infringing upon the plant patent holder. It’s only when it’s a utility patent that the copying breeder in this case would be infringing upon the patent. To infringe upon a plant patent the actual plant (genotype) is all that matters.

• A plant variety protection certificate seems to provide more protection than a plant patent, as it also covers sexual reproduction. So a different breeder can’t use the protected plant to create new hybrids, except under the “research exception.” While plant patent is only about asexual reproduction. A big apparent difference here is the variety must be ‘true breeding,’ while a plant patent doesn’t make such a requirement.

• A trademarked plant may be cloned and used as the grower or a different breeder sees fit, but the grower or breeder may not use the same name as the trademarked name.